Academic Calendar - 2024

Western University Academic Calendar. - 2024

Western Main Campus

Faculty of Science - Statistical and Actuarial Sciences

Admission Requirements

Completion of first-year requirements, including the following:

(Calculus 1000A/B or Calculus 1500A/B) and (Calculus 1501A/B or (Calculus 1301A/B with a mark of at least 85%)), Mathematics 1600A/B, Economics 1021A/B and Economics 1022A/B, plus 0.5 other principal course with no mark less than 60% in any of the 3.0 principal courses.

Recommended (but not required) first year courses:  Actuarial Science 1021A/B, Business Administration 1220E, Philosophy 1200.

Note: Economics 1021A/B and Economics 1022A/B, if not taken in first year, must be completed in one of the upper years in the program.

Numerical and Mathematical Methods 1412A/B and Numerical and Mathematical Methods 1414A/B; or the former Applied Mathematics 1412A/B and the former Applied Mathematics 1414A/B or the former Applied Mathematics 1413 may be substituted for the 1.0 Calculus course requirement. Numerical and Mathematical Methods 1411A/B or the former Applied Mathematics 1411A/B may be substituted for Mathematics 1600A/B. Mathematics 1600A/B (or Numerical and Mathematical Methods 1411A/B), if not taken in the first year, must be completed prior to the second term of Year 2.

Module/Program Information

6.0 courses:

2.0 courses: Actuarial Science 2553A/B, Actuarial Science 2427A/B, Actuarial Science 3424A/B, Actuarial Science 3429A/B.
1.0 courses: Financial Modelling 2555A/B, Financial Modelling 2557A/B.
0.5 course: Calculus 2402A/B.
2.0 courses: Statistical Sciences 2503A/B, Statistical Sciences 2857A/B, Statistical Sciences 2858A/B, Statistical Sciences 3657A/B.
0.5 additional Actuarial Science course at the 3000 level or higher.  Statistical Sciences 4960F/G can also be used to meet this requirement.

Calculus 2402A/B may be replaced by (Calculus 2502A/B and Calculus 2503A/B). When such a replacement occurs, the module will include 6.5 courses.

Note: This module can only be completed in a four-year (honours or non-honours) degree.