Academic Calendar - 2020 ARCHIVE

Western University Academic Calendar. - 2020ARCHIVE

Western Main Campus

Combined Degree Program HONOURS SPECIALIZATION IN COMPUTER SCIENCE - BSc/LAW - admission discontinued
Faculty of Science - Computer Science

This module is discontinued, with the last eligible students being admitted to the Faculty of Law by September 1, 2018, with the understanding that they must complete their requirements prior to September 2021. Effective October 2021, the module will be withdrawn.

The combined Computer Science/JD program is administered on behalf of the Faculty of Science and the Faculty of Law by the two Program Directors, one of whom is appointed by the Department of Computer Science and the other by the Faculty of Law. The combined program allows students to complete both the JD and BSc Honours Specialization in Computer Science degrees in six academic years instead of the seven years required if the degrees were taken separately.

Successful applicants to the combined program will enter first-year Law after completing three years of Computer Science at Western. After one year in the Faculty of Law, students in the combined program will take a combination of Computer Science and Law courses in Years Five and Six.

Admission Requirements

Students applying to the combined program will apply in the third year of Computer Science to the Undergraduate Chair of Computer Science. A separate application must also be submitted to the Faculty of Law in accordance with the submission deadlines advertised in the Western University Academic Calendar, indicating the student's intention to pursue the combined program. To be eligible for the combined program, students must have a cumulative, weighted average of 80% or stand in the top 10% of their class in the first three years of Computer Science. In addition, candidates must meet the minimum LSAT requirement established by the Law School's Admissions Committee.

Meeting the minimum requirements does not guarantee a position in the combined program.

Module/Program Information

Structure of the Program

In Years One, Two and Three, students are registered in the Faculty of Science. In Years Four, Five and Six, students are registered in the combined program. In Year Four, students will take Law courses only. In Years Five and Six, students will take a combination of approved Computer Science and Law courses. Upon completion of the combined program, students will receive both a BSc Honours Specialization in Computer Science and a JD.

Year One

Principal Courses:

1.0 course: Computer Science 1025A/B or Computer Science 1026A/B, and Computer Science 1027A/B or Computer Science 1037A/B.
1.0 course from: Applied Mathematics 1201A/B, Applied Mathematics 1413; Calculus 1000A/B, Calculus 1301A/B, Calculus 1500A/B, Calculus 1501A/B; Mathematics 1600A/B; the former Calculus 1100A/B, Linear Algebra 1600A/B.
1.0 course from Breadth Requirement Category A or B.

Subsidiary Courses:

2.0 courses.

Years Two and Three

Students must take 10.0 courses:

5.5 courses: Computer Science 2208A/B, Computer Science 2209A/B, Computer Science 2210A/B, Computer Science 2211A/B, Computer Science 2212A/B/Y, Computer Science 3305A/B, Computer Science 3307A/B/Y, Computer Science 3331A/B, Computer Science 3340A/B, Computer Science 3342A/B, Computer Science 3350A/B.
0.5 course from: Computer Science 2214A/B, Mathematics 2155F/G or the former Mathematics 2155A/B.
0.5 additional course from: Mathematics 2156A/B, Computer science courses at the 3000 level or above.
0.5 course: Writing 2101F/G.
0.5 course from: Biology 2244A/B, Statistical Sciences 2244A/B, Statistical Sciences 2141A/B, Statistical Sciences 2857A/B, Statistical Sciences 2657A.
2.5 additional courses.

Note: Students who wish to pursue the Software Engineering Minor or the Game Development Minor must obtain Special Permission from the Program Directors.

Year Four

Students must take first-year Law. No courses outside of Law may be taken during this year.

Years Five and Six

Students will take, as approved, required and elective courses from both the Faculty of Law and the Department of Computer Science. Students must take:

1. The three compulsory upper-year Law courses as determined by the Faculty;
2. Additional Law courses totaling at least 33 credit hours, of which one course must be 5625A/B/D Intellectual Property and a course or courses that satisfy the Faculty of Law writing requirements;
3. 0.5 course: Computer Science 4490Z.
4. 1.0 additional course in Computer Science at the 4000-level; and,
5. 1.5 additional courses at the undergraduate level.


In Years One to Three, students must meet the progression requirements of the Department of Computer Science. Once admitted to the combined program, students must obtain a B- average in their Law courses and a 75% average in their Computer Science courses.

A student who fails to meet the combined program progression standards in any year must withdraw from the combined program. However, if that student has met the progression standards of either the Computer Science or JD program, he or she will be allowed to proceed to the next year of that program. If that student has satisfied the progression standards of both individual programs, he or she may continue in either program and may petition the Faculty whose program was not selected for permission to complete that program at a later date.

A student who is required to withdraw from the combined program and continues with either or both of the individual programs must complete all the degree requirements of the individual program or programs in order to graduate from that program or those programs.

Breadth and Essay Requirements

Students enrolled in this program are required to complete the normal breadth and essay requirements for an Honours Specialization in Computer Science. These requirements, however, are largely satisfied through the completion of the courses above, depending on choice of non-required courses. Students should consult the Department of Computer Science to ensure completion of breadth and essay requirements.

Dean's Honour List

Students are considered for the Dean's Honour List in their home faculty in Years One, Two and Three. In Year Four, they are considered for the Dean's Honour List in the Faculty of Law. A student who takes Law courses totaling at least 12 credit hours in each of Years Five and Six of the program is considered for the Dean's Honour List in the Faculty of Law in each of those years on the basis of those courses. Dean's Honour List eligibility for Computer Science in Years Five and Six will be determined by the Faculty of Science.

Graduation with Distinction

Eligibility to graduate with distinction for each degree is determined by each Faculty.

Related Information

Exchange Programs

Students enrolled in the combined program may be eligible in Years Five or Six for an exchange program offered only through the Faculty of Law. This will require advanced planning with both Faculties.

Gold Medal

Students in the combined program are eligible to be considered for the Gold Medal in either or both degree programs, along with other eligible graduating students in those programs, as determined by the requirements in each Faculty.


Tuition fees for the combined programs are set by the University. Contact the Office of the Registrar, Western Student Services Building, Room 1120 (519) 661-2100, or at  for details.